Gerbe for Hobey; Butler honored by WCHA

The Hobey Watch continues for Boston College left wing Nathan Gerbe, who today was named as one of ten finalists for the trophy given to the nation's top player. From
Nathan Gerbe – Boston College, Junior, Forward, Oxford, Michigan This 5’5” dynamo packs a powerful punch and is entering the Hockey East playoff tournament as the nation’s second leading scorer with 52 points. His 27 goals rank tied for third in the country including bagging three in last weekend’s playoffs. Gerbe was named First Team Hockey East and has helped the Eagles to the past two Frozen Fours. • Has played in two straight NCAA championship games – Buffalo draft pick • Has 27 goals, 25 assists for 52 points in 37 games – Communications major • Has 9 PPG, 3 shorthanded, 4 winning goals – active in community service
The next step is the announcement of the Hobey Hat Trick on April 2nd, when the list of ten gets whittled down to three. Nine days later (4/11), the winner will be announced at the Frozen Four. The 10 finalists are: Nathan Gerbe, Jr, F, Boston College Ryan Jones, Sr, F, Miami Kevin Porter, Sr, F, Michigan Jeff Lerg, Jr, G, Michigan State Lee Jubinville, Jr, F, Princeton Simon Lambert, Sr, F, RIT Ryan Lasch, So, F, St. Cloud State Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, Sr, G, North Dakota T.J. Oshie, Jr, F, North Dakota Kevin Regan, Sr, G, New Hampshire --- Denver D Chris Butler has been named to the All-WCHA Second Team. The Sabres 4th round pick in the 2005 draft, Butler has gone 3-14-17 +8 in 38 games for the Pioneers this season. The St. Louis native has anchored the blueline all season long for a surprising Pioneers team that boasts just eight upperclassmen, and is a virtual lock to forego his senior season for a professional contract. The All-WCHA roll call First Team F — Ryan Lasch, St. Cloud State F — T.J. Oshie, North Dakota F — Chad Rau, Colorado College D — Jack Hillen, Colorado College D — Taylor Chorney, North Dakota G — Richard Bachman, Colorado College Second Team F — Andreas Nodl, St. Cloud State F — Garrett Roe, St. Cloud State F — Ryan Duncan, North Dakota D — Chris Butler, Denver D — Chay Genoway, North Dakota G — Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, North Dakota Third Team F — Tyler Bozak, Denver F — Kyle Turris, Wisconsin F — Blake Wheeler, Minnesota D — Jamie McBain, Wisconsin D — Robbie Bina, North Dakota G — Peter Mannino, Denver Rookie Team F — Kyle Turris, Wisconsin F — Tyler Bozak, Denver F — Garrett Roe, St. Cloud State D — Cade Fairchild, Minnesota D — Ryan McDonagh, Wisconsin G — Richard Bachman, Colorado College Player of the Year Richard Bachman, Colorado College Rookie of the Year Richard Bachman, Colorado College Defensive Player of the Year Jack Hillen, Colorado College Student-Athlete of the Year Joel Hanson, Minnesota State Coach of the Year Troy Jutting, Minnesota State --- To game results... Philip Gogulla went pointless as Cologne dropped game two of their DEL quarterfinal series with Mannheim, 2-1. With the teams trading home ice wins, the series will resume on Saturday in Cologne. Drew Schiestel opened the playoff season with a solid defensive effort in Niagara's 4-0 shutout of Mississauga-St. Michael's. Kudos to St. Catharines for loads of energy in their barn as the OHL playoffs returned to the Niagara Peninsula.
Next Post »